



Welcome

The Organising Committee of the 17th Australasian Fluid Mechanics Conference would like to take the opportunity to welcome you to New Zealand, to Auckland and to the 17th meeting of this conference.

The Australasian Fluid Mechanics Conferences have been held triennially since the series inception as the Australasian Hydraulics and Fluid Mechanics Conference at the University of Western Australia 1962. This Conference is the 17th meeting, the 4th of the series to be held in New Zealand, and the 3rd to be held at The University of Auckland. These conferences, at which all contributions are presented orally, have the tradition of providing graduate students with an opportunity to interact with a community of richly experienced researchers, and have played a very significant role of nurturing fluid mechanics research in Australasia and the surrounding region for nearly four decades.

The role of developing this vibrant community has been formalised with the recent formation of the Australian Fluid Mechanics Society, and this is the first event which has been associated with the AFMS. A highlight of this meeting will be the celebration of the induction of the 10 inaugural AFMS Fellows at the conference banquet.

A feature of the AFMC series is the broad range of fluid mechanics research presented, and this conference is no different as evidenced by the 28 themes identified in the programme, the 235 presentations and over 200 papers submitted. The flavour of a particular meeting is set by the plenary speakers and the conference committee is very grateful for the contributions of David Boger, Vladimir Nikora, Mike O'Sullivan, Andrew Pollard and Phil Schwarz for providing high quality thematic foci.

As Chair I would like to acknowledge here the efforts of John Cater the conference secretary and the other members of the conference Organising Committee; Rosalind Archer, John Chen, Richard Clarke, Stephen Coleman, Richard Flay, Bruce Melville, Roger Nokes, Stuart Norris, Peter Richards and Rajnish Sharma. I also acknowledge the 120 reviewers of the abstracts and papers. The Committee would particularly like to thank Tessa Hagemann, of the Conference Management unit in The University of Auckland's Centre for Continuing Education who has tirelessly provided the administrative support that has allowed the committee to concentrate on the technical aspects of the conference.

Finally, the Committee would also like to acknowledge the support of the Faculty of Engineering at The University of Auckland and the Conference sponsors: the platinum sponsor Olympus, COMSOL Multiphysics, LasTEK & LaVision, LEAP Australia, Kenelec Scientific, Duff and Macintosh, New Spec & Spectra-Physics.

Gordon Mallinson Chair